Death of an old PC

My PC died, more specifically the mother board stopped working. I’m guessing that a combination of the heatwave and its numerous thermal shutdowns toasted the northbridge. After about 6 shutdowns it failed to ever POST again. It served me well. Unfortunately I lost quite a lot of app’s and games. However, I feel unburdened by their removal. It’s a slightly sad but freeing emotion that I have about it all. A new, much cleaner start, on a new PC.

The specs:

  • Coolermaster Centurion 5 case – 460W.
  • E8400 Core 2 Duo – 3.0Ghz.
  • 2Gb G-Skill RAM Cl-5 @ 1066Mhz.
  • Asus P5-KE mo-bo (which I could not get RAID-0 to work on after stuffing around for hours to find a RAID capable board I could afford).
  • Gigabyte ATI-4850 512Mb card.

Leftover parts:

I ordered various heat dissipating components before the previous motherboard died and am left with a Zalman northbridge heatsink and a Zalman GV-1000 video card cooler. The Gigabyte has a Zalman cooler already (2 heat pipe) but the new one is 4 heat pipe, so is probably better. Not sure what to do with it. Rebuilding has been fun and painful. I really miss the speed of RAID-0 – so any tips on building an existing drive into a RAID-0 (its pair is partitioned but holds no data) please comment.

Death of an old PC

Leave a Reply

