The trouble with GAS

The trouble with GAS is that it is a symptom of avoidance. I’ve got a bunch of savings and on top of that I have the proceeds of my sales. That money is tempting me into more and more purchases that are ostensibly for music but I’m not actually improving my practice. The one thing that is helping, that I recently bought, is the Zoom HD16CD recorder. It helps me hear my playing whilst I’m not actually working the instrument: I can just listen and hear my various errors and inaccuracies. A wake-up call, that is, alright! Although there is some things that gear allow you to do the gear itself  doesn’t make you a better musician!

So I’m venting about my wont to purchase stuff that is high-quality whilst not getting into a better practice routine. And I feel better already.

The trouble with GAS

Leave a Reply

