Merino Clothing

After reading an inspiring article on Rivendell Bikes about the greatness of merino clothing I took a chance, dropped over $50 on a base-layer and tried it out. I have not looked back. Modern merino superfine fabric is smooth, doesn’t itch, and retains little (if any) odour.

My first purchase was an Orca base-layer long sleeve.

Next was an Orca mid-layer and short-sleeve base-layer.

Last was an Icebreaker mid-layer longsleeve and a pair of trunk undies.

Every purchase was worth every cent.

Cycling was where the material really stood out. On a very cold morning I rode into work, 33kms, and had a puncture. I stopped and changed out the tube. At the time, about 70% of the distance, I was feeling slightly damp. When I took of my waterproof jacket steam was rising about my body. The cotton long-T was damp and it seemed the merino wicked all the moisture off my skin – that moisture in turn absorbed by the cotton long-T. After changing out the tube I realised that the merino against my skin was not in the slight bit damp.

image

For cycling merino is the best material I’ve found for against the skin. I’ve yet to try my merino trunks on the bike for anything more than 15 minutes so I can’t comment on its performance on long rides with those parts of your body that connect with the saddle.

Merino Clothing

2 thoughts on “Merino Clothing

  1. I agree. Merino, while heavier when damp than wicking materials, has a good property for regular use without it stinking. Overall better for prolonged wear / daily cycling.

  2. It was kind of funny that the Icebreaker outlet I visited had a wallboard with the record consecutive days an icebreaker garment being worn as 166days and “no stink”!

Leave a Reply

